Piano and Gratitude

Ha-ha! All right, piano and gratitude don’t seem very connected but… oh, never mind. 😉

I was practicing piano yesterday, and there was this one part in the song that I kept messing up on. It was driving me crazy. I’m just a little bit of a perfectionist. And that’s a little bit of an understatement.

I kept trying to get that part of the song right. At one point, I felt something inside of me say, “But what about the rest of the song? You’re doing the rest of the song really good.” I thought about that (while I was still playing the song :D). So I played the first part of the song, the part I was getting right, and just enjoyed it, let my fingers play some notes they’d already figured out. And, you know what? When I got to the part that I kept messing up on, I got it right!

So, connecting this to gratitude…

A lot of times we tend to focus on the bad things in life: trouble with our schoolwork, bullies, and things just not going our way. But would it really hurt us so much to look at the good things in life? Shelter, food, clothing, and things that a lot of other people in the world don’t have.

Even if you don’t have some of those things, here are a few things that everyone has that they can be thankful for:

  1. Being alive 😀
  2. God’s beautiful world
  3. A God who loves you in spite of your mistakes
  4. The opportunity to go to heaven
  5. A Savior who died a horrible death to save you (Imagine the finger pointing at you again!)

Challenge: First, focus on the good things in your life. Then make up your own top-ten list of things that you can be thankful for. And feel free to go over ten things!

2 comments

What do you think?

